Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Crafty! October 20, 2009

Filed under: blogging,friends — airingdirtylaundry @ 9:50 pm

I have some really awesome friends.  Online and in real life.

(Thanks, by the way, for all of your encouraging words and support after my last post!)

Maggie has gotten so many awesome gifts from our family and friends . . .books, clothes, toys, and so much more!  And it means a lot to Mike and I that people take the time out of their busy lives to pick out or make something special for our little girl.

I’ve always admired people who are crafty.  I think it’s because my mother was one of those people . . .she could crochet, quilt, and paint (folk art and tole painting).  It seemed like any craft she would try, she would excel at.  I’ve always wished that I would have inherited that from her.

My craft of choice has always been counted cross-stitch.  The picture of baskets on the wall behind Michele and I in my last post is actually a cross-stitch that I was working on for my mother; she passed away before I finished it and was able to give it to her.  I’ve always loved cross-stitch; it was therapeutic for me and gave me something to do while watching TV.  But to me, it’s not much of a craft.  It doesn’t take much talent or creativity . . .all you have to do is know how to count and make sure the right color gets to the right place.

Other crafts are different.  Like crochet and knitting.  You start with nothing but yarn and needles, and viola . . you have a blanket, or a sweater, or whatever.  You’re making something out of nothing.  Now that is awesome.

My Aunt Margie and my grandmother both made blankets for Maggie (and if I wasn’t so lazy I’d go take pictures of them, but they’re both upstairs and I’m downstairs . . .and tired). 

And yesterday Maggie got a beautiful blanket in the mail from Therese!  She tried it out last night when she was sleeping in her Daddy’s arms, and I think she likes it!

How sweet!  It’s so soft and so cozy!

And TheAngelForever had sent Maggie a box of goodies and had included washcloths that she made–I took a picture of them this morning before Maggie got her bath.

I’ve used these washcloths every time I’ve given Maggie a bath since they arrived–they’re so incredibly soft!

I know Mike has never understood how I’ve connected with people online that I’ve “met” through blogging.  He doesn’t quite understand how you can form any kind of connection with someone that you haven’t met in person, or (in some cases) have never even talked to on the phone.  But as cards and gifts for Maggie came in the mail, he would ask who they were from when he didn’t recognize the name.  And each time, I’d explain that the person was a blogging friend.  I think he’s starting to undertand that you can create relationships with people through blogging.  That others care enough about us and were so happy for us that they took the time to send us a card, or go to a store and buy something for Maggie, or order something online and have it sent to us, or–like my craftier friends–take the time to make something for her.

So thank you . . . those of you that are friends in real life, and those of you that I’ve never met and yet I feel like I know so well.  You’ve showered us with all kinds of well wishes, and gifts, and love . .  and we’re forever grateful!

 

4 Responses to “Crafty!”

  1. Katie Says:

    Awwwwww! That is awesome, the handmade gifts are lovely. I agree with you, my hubby doesn’t get the connection I have with many of my blogging friends but in some ways the way I can lean on you and some of my other online friends are ways I can’t lean on real life friends who I love to death but who don’t get the exact pain I have felt and the fears I have.

  2. So glad that you are using the washcloths that I sent. Just let me know if you need more. I don’t think TechyDad got the connection that I had made with online friends until I met one of my friends from a Summer 2003 Mommy groups. We went to stay with her and her family and it was like we knew each other forever. I am so glad that I met you through the Swaparooni group. Hopefully one day we will meet in person as well.

  3. Therese Says:

    I really do hope that we meet on day Shawna! Our little girls need to meet as well. I am so glad that you (and Maggie) like the blanket! It made me smile to see her curled up with it!

  4. The blanket and washcloths are darling. I’m glad wee Maggie is enjoying them!


Leave a Reply

