Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Travelin’ Tunes–Parts Five and Six February 14, 2009

Filed under: 101 in 1001,music — airingdirtylaundry @ 10:17 am

So I kind of had to drop the “this week in music” since I have been neglecting my blog and haven’t posted ANYTHING in almost 2 weeks.  Today is a major blog catch-up day, so be prepared.  I have 3 weeks of The Bold and The Beautiful DVR’d, so I’m spending a nice relaxing morning catching up on blogging and soaps.

LAST week, I listened to Deana Carter’s “Did I Shave My Legs For This?”.  It’s probably been at least 10 years since I listened to this CD, so while it was a nice little blast from the past, I just couldn’t get into it.  I love all kinds of music, but I like them all at different times.  By pulling this CD off the shelf, I felt like a was forcing a country mood and it just didn’t  take. 

Regardless, I did get into this one:

THIS week, I switched gears a bit and went for something a little heavier, Linkin Park’s Minutes to Midnight.

This is one of the few CDs I own that I like just about every song.  Or at least there aren’t any songs I need to breeze through because they’re annoying.  I love how some of the songs are truly hard rock, while some are more towards the alernative end of the spectrum.  A great mix of tempos. 

And while the song “Bleed It Out” is the one that stays in my head, I couldn’t help but to pick the song “Valentine’s Day” for my chosen snippet of the week.  A depressing take on a day supposedly filled with love, but I like it anyway.

 

One Response to “Travelin’ Tunes–Parts Five and Six”

  1. Holli Says:

    I love Deana Carter….I haven’t listened to this CD in forever but it used to be one of my faves. There is a song on there that is exactly perfect for describing what love is…..called That’s How You Know Its Love or something like that? I used to listen to this CD a long time ago and hope I found love like that. Now I have. 🙂


Leave a Reply

