Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Travelin’ Tunes–This Week in Music Part 3 January 26, 2009

Filed under: 101 in 1001,music — airingdirtylaundry @ 7:28 pm

Maybe the title should be LAST week in music, hmmm? Seems I have nothing else going on in my life other than telling you about the CDs I listen to in the car, and I can’t even keep up with blogging about THAT! This week’s CD is New Order’s Republic.

I bought this CD in 1993 right after it came out, and other than the song “Regret”, I probably listened to it no more than five times since I bought it. Last Monday, I popped it into the CD player, sure that this time it would be different. It wasn’t.

It’s an OK CD, but nothing spectacular. I could go the whole week listening to it in the car on the way to and from work, but now that the week is over, it may be another 15+ years until I have the desire to listen to it again. And by that time, CD players will be what 8-track players are today. I just can’t help but compare this album with 1987’s Substance .  Although I’m not a die-hard New Order fan, if I had to pick an “essential” New Order CD, it would be Substance. A lot more danceable, a lot more memorable.

The one track on Republic that I can’t get out of my head?

 

Leave a Reply

