Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

My Resolution January 6, 2009

Filed under: random ramblings — airingdirtylaundry @ 8:05 pm

My resolution for 2009 is to watch more TV.

Seriously. 

When Mike’s brother and his wife and their kids stayed with us over New Year’s, I watched 2 movies.  In one night. Without reading a book through them and only half paying attention.  That’s quite an accomplishment for me.  On Sunday, after they headed home, Mike and I vegged out on the couch and I watched another movie.  For me, 6 hours of vapid staring at the TV in the span of less than a week is unheard of.  When I lived alone, I could go for weeks without turning on the TV and it wouldn’t bother me a bit.

I don’t have “shows”–other than my half-hour soap that I DVR and am constantly a month or so behind on.  I don’t DVR anything else, I don’t make sure that I’m home at a certain time to watch a show.  I can’t commit, no matter how good a show is.  I’d always rather read a book.  Sometimes I can’t sit still through a show or a movie because I sit there and look around at all of the cleaning that needs to be done. 

So, in 2009, I want to watch TV.  Not an excessive amount.  Maybe just a few hours a week.  And when Mike asks me if I want to watch a movie (as he just did), I’ll start saying “yes” more than “no”.  And I totally just said “no”.  I’m in the middle of a good book and I need to pay bills and do some other stuff before I sit down. So apparently I’m not making great strides so far.  But I have the whole year, right?

 

4 Responses to “My Resolution”

  1. lorimo Says:

    There are some pretty good shows out there and having a DVR makes it so nice to be able to watch them whenever you want.

  2. Sydney Says:

    I have several shows that I watch (and by watch, I mean DVR) regularly… Grey’s Anatomy, The Office, Lipstick Jungle, Project Runway, and Scrubs. Then there’s some short-season shows that I enjoy (My Boys on TBS and Starter Wife on USA… the seasons for these shows are usually 10-12 episodes… so it’s not a huge time commitment). Then there are shows I like to drop-in on… Mythbusters, Intervention, How it’s Made, and the “Cities Underground” show… mostly because Craig will watch those too.

  3. Jamie Says:

    I couldn’t tell you what shows are on or when, either. But I do have “my shows”. Two of them – ER and Dirty Sexy Money. I will alter my schedule if I think I might miss them. I refuse to Tivo anything because I am afraid if I don’t watch it when it is on, someone might talk about what happened on the show and spoil it for me. I loved Boston Legal when it was on. But I have it on DVD.

    I loved the shows on HBO but we downgraded last year so I am missing Big Love. It is on DVD so I’m not worried. The other one was Six Feet Under… I never missed that for anything.

    My hubby watches all sorts of stuff so I either read or use the computer and do that half paying attention thing.

  4. Chaddy Says:

    SLo…what a GREAT resolution! I would highly recommend “The Traitor” with Don “Basher” Cheadle and NOT recommend “Burn After Reading” (although you may want to watch it just Brad Pitt’s character –“Chad”).

    Oh…catch up LOST and join Mikey and I in our weekly “debrief!!!”


Leave a Reply

