Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Goodbye, Aunt Mary December 6, 2008

Filed under: family,Uncategorized — airingdirtylaundry @ 4:26 pm

Your family was everything to you.  I’m so glad that I am a part of that family, that I had the experience of being your niece-through-marriage.  I still remember meeting you for the first time.  We bonded over Fresca and Tab and the National Equirer (or was it Star?).  There was never any meet-the-family-for-the-first-time awkwardness.  I felt at ease with you.  I think that everyone that ever encountered you felt the same way.

Now that both you and Uncle Richie are gone, it feels like the end of an era.  Walking through your house, trying to memorize everything, knowing that we’ll never be in that house again.  That all of the memories, all of the “stuff” will be divided up, distributed amongst your many children and grandchildren, passed on to those you loved and those that love you. 

You accepted me into your arms and into your family.  You touched my life (and I can almost see you laughing at how corny that sounds).  I’ll miss your smile, your laugh, your strength, your stories of the family that sound like legends when you recount them. 

I wish you peace.

Goodbye, Aunt Mary.

Go n-eírí an bóthar leat.
May the road rise with you.

 

JLo, Aunt Mary, and me on the beach in NJ--January 2008

JLo, Aunt Mary, and me on the beach in NJ--January 2008

 

6 Responses to “Goodbye, Aunt Mary”

  1. Holli Says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss…….that was such a beautiful post. My thoughts are with you……….

  2. Cindy Says:

    I’m so sorry that you have lost someone close to you. She sounds like she was a terrific person and rest assured, she will live on through all of the wonderful memories you and others have of her.

  3. What a touching tribute to your Aunt Mary. So glad that everyone will have such wonderful memories of her. My condolences to you, Mike and the rest of the family.

  4. Look at that lovely smile, your Aunt Mary sounded like a sweetheart.

    So sorry about your loss.

  5. lorimo Says:

    I’m sorry to hear that you have to say goodbye to Aunt Mary. I hope it was peaceful. Were you back home by the time it happened? She sounds like a wonderful person who meant a lot to many people and will be missed.

  6. Jamie Says:

    My deepest sympathies, Shawna & Mike. It is awful to loose someone with as much character and acceptance as her. I hope her memory will live on within you and your family….


Leave a Reply

