Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Mike, you’ll be glad to know I saved $3.99 by NOT buying you an anniversary card November 13, 2008

Filed under: special occasions — airingdirtylaundry @ 5:30 am

Nine years ago today, I walked down the long long aisle of Heinz Chapel to you.  I smiled at some point, or at least I thought I did, but in all of the pictures I have that scared “deer caught in headlights” look. 

 

Like a lot of brides, I was nervous.  But my nerves were from being the center of attention, having hundreds of eyes all trained on me at one time.  The idea of getting married to you didn’t phase me at all.  But the process? I could have just skipped right on past that “walk down the aisle” part.  And of course our church had a loooooonnng aisle.

 

I remember that day like it was yesterday, yet it was almost a decade ago.  Was it a special day? OF COURSE.  But in some ways it was just a formality.  We had times together before that day that are special (although I could only come up with these pictures without tearing the whole house apart),

 

and we’ve made our memories together since. 

 

That day made it official.  Permanent.  But I like to think that I could show my commitment to you in a more meaningful way than throwing a big party (although we throw some ROCKIN’ parties!)

 

and buying a dress that I would wear for just hours.  You knew of that commitment well before that day, well before that day was even a thought in either of our heads.  And as time marches on, I promise to show you that commitment continually. 

A few weeks ago, when I made the comment to my sisters-in-law that you weren’t romantic, you took it as an insult.  I meant it as a compliment.  I don’t need the traditional perception of “romance.”  I don’t need poetry or flowers or fancy dinners or expensive chocolates (cheap chocolate is fine!).  I don’t need all of the “stuff”; I just need you.  I need you to be there when I wake up in the morning.  I need you to be the last thing I see when I close my eyes at night.  I need you to be able to know how I feel just by reading my expression.  You know when I need a hug, sometimes when even I don’t know that I need it.  That’s all the romance I need.

You call me your bride.  Even though it’s been nine years since we walked back down that aisle together.

 

And sometimes I do really feel as if we’re newlyweds, as if we’re just starting out.  Because I know that there’s so much more for us to experience.  There will be all kinds of good times, which I look forward to.  And there will be bad times along the way, I’m sure, as there always are.  But I don’t have that anxious fear of the bad that I would have if I were on my own.  Because I have you.  And the two of us together can get through anything–I think we’ve proved that over and over throughout the years.

So, on this day of our anniversary, I can’t help but to think that it’s really just like any other day.  And that’s a good thing.  A very good thing.

 

9 Responses to “Mike, you’ll be glad to know I saved $3.99 by NOT buying you an anniversary card”

  1. Courtney Says:

    Happy Anniversary!!!!! 9 years that is so great. This was a touching post and proves to me that after 9 years or more i can still feel the same way about ym husband as i did the day we got married. Our 4 year Anniversary is on Friday and i sometimes ask where the time has went. It flies by too fast!

  2. What a fabulous letter to Mike! Happy 9th Anniversary to both of you. May you continue to feel like newlyweds now and forever. Best wishes to both of you 🙂

  3. Jamie Says:

    Happy Anniversary! Great pictures of both of you guys. Wishing you many more happy years together!

  4. Holli Lund Says:

    First of all……..your post made me cry. Sincerely. What an incredibly sweet thing to do for your husband on your anniversary. I loved reading it and it gave me such a warm feeling inside to hear how happy you are. The pictures were precious and my god your church is magnificent.

    Secondly….the older pics of you two are hysterical and I loved seeing you guys grow up together. Too funny!!

  5. Sydney Says:

    Happy anniversary! What a sweet post!

  6. Happy anniversary (belated) – 9 years is awesome!

    That was a beautiful love letter to your hubby; it’s wonderful that your marriage is so strong and just gets stronger. You are very lucky.

    It looks like it was a gorgeous wedding as well, I love that panoramic shot from the back, stunning… and the shot of the two of you leaving the church, the smiles and relief… we have a very similar shot in ours :).

  7. lorimo Says:

    This is such a beautiful post! I love all of the pictures that you included! It sounds like the two of you are great together! I wish that I could write about my marriage in the same way…

  8. Marsha Says:

    Shawna, I have a lot of the deer in the headlights photos in my wedding album, too. And good grief, the size of that church, the length of that aisle! Diana and Charles had a shorter walk! I got married in a tiny chapel and I was nervous walking down that little aisle. I would have turned around and ran away if I had to walk through that grand church.

  9. kat156 Says:

    omg. this post made me CRY. the last line. good grief. where is my kleenex?


Leave a Reply

