Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

I purposely waited until NOW to talk about politics November 5, 2008

Filed under: secrets — airingdirtylaundry @ 7:28 pm

It’s over.  Our 44th President has been elected.  Who did I vote for?  None of your damn business.

Politics to me is personal.  Only two people know what my vote was–one is me, of course, and the other is Mike.  But up until I told him, even Mike wasn’t sure who I was going to vote for.

I like it that way.  I like that my vote is MINE.  I enjoy being the neutral party when Mike and his brother/friends/random strangers get into heated political debates.  I like to sit back and take it all in before making a decision.  I like to be able to learn about both parties and both candidates without going into it thinking “I am a Democrat; I MUST vote for Obama” or “I am a Republican: I MUST vote for McCain.”

When I first registered to vote, I registered (and am still registered) as Independent.  Yesterday was my fourth oppotunity to vote in a Presidential election.  I have voted each time and I’ve found that after weighing each candidate in each election and making my choice, I have voted for the same party each time.  But will I switch my registration to have that party’s name on it instead of showing “Independent”?  Will I publicly proclaim that I am a ________?  No.  Because next time around, who knows what my choices will be and what my feelings will be towards each candidate’s platform?  I like being somewhat neutral until I do my research and make my own decision.  And I’m thankful that as an American, it is my RIGHT to make MY decision.

Mike is very vocal about politics.  He’s a die-hard Democrat and Obama supporter.  He even put a sign up in our front yard to declare his allegiance and support. 

 

That’s fine by me.  He’s passionate about his beliefs and wants to show it.  Did he ask if he could put the sign up in our yard, since it’s, you know, OUR yard.  No.  Big deal.  Did he or his sign influence my vote in any way?  No. If I felt so strongly about one candidate or the other and wanted to publicly announce it, I’d get a sign too.  But I don’t, so I didn’t. 

I’ve read a lot of posts today about how things are going to change now that Obama has been elected President (some very positive, some very negative).  For our sake, I hope things DO change.  McCain or Obama, things NEED to change.  Is either one perfect for the job?  No. 

But is anyone?

 

5 Responses to “I purposely waited until NOW to talk about politics”

  1. Courtney Says:

    excelent post. I think neutral is great especailly when it is our country that you are deciding about. Props to you and your decision no matter what it was. You voted and that is what matters!

  2. lorimo Says:

    I second Courtney, great post! I get rather tired of people being strictly one party or the other. I too remain neutral and although I usually vote one way, I don’t always. I think it is sooo important to learn more about a candidate than the party they are in.

  3. I had often thought about registering as an Independent, but politics help to get jobs in this area. Living in a very strong democrat dominated area I went that way. However, just because I am registered that way does not mean that I am always going to vote along party lines.

    Sadly, I have always felt that no matter which candidate went into office they were going into a sinking ship. It has been my belief that the president elect (whether McCain or now Obama for sure) will likely be a one term president. Of course, for our country’s sake I would love for that not to be true.

    Tuesday night it struck me that McCain looked so much younger when he gave his concession speech, while Obama looked SO much older already.

  4. We’re pretty private about politics, too. Heck, I don’t even know who my husband voted for. I love how you got your cat in the photo!

  5. Jamie Says:

    Great post. I, too, registered as independent when I first registered but ultimately changed my mind. I think it’s great that people get out and vote, but making an educated decision is more important than bragging about voting. I am glad that you did your research and aren’t afraid to think outside your party line.


Leave a Reply

