Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

He’ll have the “Balls and Claws” special, please. October 31, 2008

Filed under: meow! — airingdirtylaundry @ 9:14 am

Mike dropped Forrest off at the vet this morning to get his vaccines (since he was too sickly with ringworm to get them done last time), get neutered, and also declawed.

Yes, declawed.

That process that I’m so against, that’s so inhumane and cruel.

But I’m at my wit’s end.  He’s aggressive and getting more so each day.  Mike and I can fend him off (most of the time), but it’s taking it’s toll on our other cat, Guinness, who now sleeps with one eye open.  Forrest isn’t a mean cat, he just wants to play.  But he takes it too far and doesn’t know when to stop.  He attacks Guinness relentlessly, even sinking his teeth into her neck.  The teeth we can’t do anything about, but the claws . . .I’m finally ready to admit they have to go.

We’ve been pretty good about keeping the Soft Claws on him, but they’re not enough.  The other night he worked his way under our leather rocker/recliner and tried to claw his way out from the inside.  It’s like our chair was possessed by an alien–he’s one strong little cat.  If we would have let him keep going, he would have punched through the leather despite having the Soft Claws on.

But still, I’m feeling guilty and second-guessing our decision to have this done.  We can’t pick him up until tomorrow, so tonight (after trick-or-treat!) is going to be rough.  Without Forrest, our house will be quiet and peaceful.  Giving me even more time to wonder if we did the right thing.

Maybe I’ll spend that time playing catch-up and writing a long rambling post about my adventures over the past few weeks. . . .

 

4 Responses to “He’ll have the “Balls and Claws” special, please.”

  1. Jamie Says:

    I’ve debated about this for so long too. I never could make up my mind one way or another. My cats are big scratchers and I get sick of looking at shredded furniture, carpet and anything else they can get their paws on. I have been using soft paws for at least 9 months and it does help, but it is a bitch to put them on anymore. I think that I have successfully wasted enough time debating about declawing that now my vet won’t do it because the cats are too old. There’s my answer!

    I think he will be fine… he’s a kitten and if he’s being aggressive with G, then I think you made the right choice.

  2. lorimo Says:

    I have been thinking about you in your absence. I am glad you are back!

    Our cat came declawed in the front so we didn’t have to make that decision. I would have to think long and hard about about what to do if I had a new kitten.

  3. […] seeds as I type this, waiting on the garage door repairman to come.  We’re both anxious to pick up Forrest at the vet.  He came through the surgery without a hitch and had his stitches removed this morning.  We […]

  4. Holli Lund Says:

    Hilarious! Love the title Shawna…….

    I have a 16 year old cat and I wish desperately I would ahve de-clawed mine when she was under a year!!! UGH. Her clawing is really her only downfall (as she claws the couch as I type. DAMN CAT). I thought it was inhumane so I didn’t do it. Believe me………I envy you right now. 🙂


Leave a Reply

