Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Day October 15, 2008

Filed under: family — airingdirtylaundry @ 1:07 pm

For those of you who don’t know, today is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Day.  Please join in and light a candle at 7:00 PM tonight and let it burn for at least an hour.

If you’ve read my blog for any period of time or know me in “real life”, you know that I was pregnant earlier this year.  Although I like to think that I made my peace with the whole situation as well as can be expected, sometimes I can’t help but to dwell on it.  Our benefit this weekend was a bittersweet night for me.   It seems like it was so long ago, yet it was only the end of April, that I ran to the calendar and counted the weeks.  I would have been 27 weeks pregnant at the benefit.  We would have been just a few months away from bringing a child into the world on the night that we dedicated to raising money for the American Cancer Society in memory of our mothers.

So even if you think it’s hokey to have a Wave of Light in remembrance of pregnancies and children lost, at least do it for ME damn it.

 

4 Responses to “Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness Day”

  1. Courtney Says:

    I will join you in this. I have lost 3 children to miscarriage a long time ago and i dont think you ever forget or move on. It is heart breaking for anyone.

  2. Sydney Says:

    Just getting caught up. You’re always in my thoughts and prayers!

  3. lorimo Says:

    I didn’t read this post in time to light a candle with you, but I wanted you to know that I am thinking of you. I have been a reader for awhile and know that you have gone through a lot…


Leave a Reply

