Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Before and after September 28, 2008

Filed under: projects — airingdirtylaundry @ 5:06 pm

For some reason I’ve had the desire to dig into some long-put-off home improvement projects over the past two weekends.  Last weekend I painted the master bathroom–what a difference a little color makes!

Before:

And after:

This weekend, I tackled the little sitting room that’s attached to our bedroom.  For the past two years it has been the “junk room”–ironing board, a desk stacked with books, decorations that will eventually go in our bedroom once I get it painted.  About a year and a half ago I painted it a very bright yellow, kind of by accident.  That little paint square looked much paler than a whole room painted that color.  Those of you who know me well know that bright colors just aren’t my thing.  I laughed it off and jokingly named the color “Electric Big Bird” and figured someday I’d repaint it.  You can’t even see the room until you go through our bedroom and around a corner, so at least Mike and I were the only ones that would see it.

A few weeks ago I got the bright idea (pun intended) to make it into a sports room for Mike.  All of Mike’s favorite teams–Pirates, Steelers, Pitt, Oregon–have yellow in their colors, so hey, I wouldn’t even have to repaint the room.  Mike has collected all kinds of stuff over the years, almost all of it in boxes in the basement. He’s on a guys trip to Vegas this weekend, so the timing was perfect.  He knew I was going to work on it this weekend, but I know that he had no idea to what extent I planned it out and that I would get as much done as I did.  So it will be somewhat of a surprise when he sees all of the holes I pounded into the wall when he returns tomorrow.

Before:

I still have to paint the TV stand, hang a few more pictures, and have Mike go with me to look at a black leather chair (since it’s going to be his butt that will be sitting in it), and there are 2 red shelves that are backordered that will go on either side of the TV stand, but it’s done as it’s going to get for now:

I’m going to spend the few waking hours that are left in this weekend reading and watching TV (which hasn’t been turned on ALL WEEKEND).  Hopefully Mike will be surprised when he sees what I’ve done, but even if he’s not I at least feel like I accomplished a lot this weekend.

 

5 Responses to “Before and after”

  1. You did a fabulous job! I absolutely love the bathroom. You are not kidding about how the color helped. It is so much more inviting. The furniture around the Big Bird Yellow makes it really nice. Alone it was quite shocking. Keep us posted on Mike’s reaction to the new sports room.

    So, when are you coming to visit and paint with me? We still have not finished all of the painting from when we moved in 4 years ago. The frustrating part is thanks to bad paint jobs by previous people spots that we busted our rears on are bubbling and cracking, including the ceilings. Ugh, old houses stink!

  2. lorimo Says:

    Wow! It looks great!

    I wish I had that kind of motivation to something like that around here.

    So, you have to tell us, what did he think?

  3. Jamie Says:

    I love the new color for the bathroom. I wish my bathroom was that big! The yellow seems more subtle now that there are things in the room and on the walls. You did a great job!

  4. […] @ 12:39 pm You’ve made comments/sent emails asking about Mike’s reaction to THE ROOM, the mecca of all things sports, the embodiment of my undying love for him, the one room in the […]

  5. Sydney Says:

    Wow on both accounts! Love the bathroom color. And I’m jealous of that tub. The next house will have a tub like that.
    And that sports room is great! I bet your husband will love it, once he recovers.


Leave a Reply

