Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Wow July 9, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — airingdirtylaundry @ 8:04 am

Wow. What a crazy, wonderful weekend we had!  Despite waking up with a cold on Thursday morning (boo hiss!) and Mike having a rough day on Saturday after drinking Heineken AND Absolut Mandarin with Sobe all day on Friday (beer before liquor, never sicker . . . ), we had such a fantastic time.

We made a point of doing some of our favorite things while we were out there . . .seeing Big Elvis at Bill’s Gambling Hall, eating at P.F.Chang’s, taking the monorail to the other end of the strip and wandering around, and going downtown to Fremont Street.

It was HOT.  VERY HOT.  Like, 112 degrees hot.  But it felt so good to have the sun beating down on me (and drying out my sinuses–I swear the desert heat works better than any OTC cold remedy).  When we walked out of the Pittsburgh airport last night to 80 degrees and 75% humidity, I wanted to turn right around and get on the next flight back out west.

This was my fifth time to Vegas, and definitely my favorite trip yet.  Mike and I made a point to leave all of our emotional baggage behind and to turn this past weekend into a party–to be carefree and not think about work or about anything that happened in the past month.

It worked.  I do feel better.  A weekend in Vegas is certainly no consolation for losing the baby and Giz, but it was healing to get away and to focus on the two of us as a couple.

Pictures later, I promise!

 

3 Responses to “Wow”

  1. Therese Says:

    I am so glad you had a good time! Good for you!

  2. Sydney Says:

    Welcome back! so glad you guys had a great time. can’t wait to see pictures! (Also can’t wait to see how many books you read while you were on vacation! I had a long weekend and only managed to finish one!)

  3. So glad that you had a wonderful time. You and Mike both needed this. As you know I happened to be checking my Flickr at the time you were putting your photos on and got a sneak look at them 😉 Can’t wait to hear the story to go along with them!


Leave a Reply

