Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Puzzled June 28, 2008

Filed under: family — airingdirtylaundry @ 12:24 am

I’ve always been good at puzzles.  Word puzzles, jigsaw puzzles, crossword puzzles, you name it.  My mother and I used to put together a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle in a span of a few hours.  We’d go on excursions to Goodwill and thrift shops and load up on puzzles, and then go home and race each other at putting them together.

On a whim, I bought a photo mosaic puzzle at Barnes & Noble earlier this week.  It looks hard.  It IS hard.  I worked on it for an hour on Monday night and an hour tonight (yes, I know we have exciting Friday nights at our house).  I got the outer edge done on Monday and 25 interior pieces done tonight.  It took me an hour to put 25 puzzle pieces together.  Wow.  As difficult as it is, I’m enjoying the challenge.  But it’s so frustrating to go so slowly!  What a completely different puzzle strategy than your typical scenery puzzle.

In other puzzle-related news, I kicked Mike’s ass at Othello tonight (and tonight was the first time I’ve ever played!  Once again, exciting Friday nights at our house . . .).  I took a picture that I’m too lazy to upload, but in summary, he had 8 pieces on the board to my 56.  I think it was a fluke that I did that well, but it totally makes up for my frustration at the Marilyn Monroe puzzle!

 

2 Responses to “Puzzled”

  1. Therese Says:

    I LOVE puzzles! Have you tried cubis on the computer? I have been known to play that for hours!

  2. Sydney Says:

    I’m big into puzzles and games of all kinds. I think that’s how I made it through high school without drinking! My friends and I would get together on the weekends at each other’s houses and do puzzles or play games like Pictionary, Outburst, Trivial Pursuit, Taboo, etc. How neat that you’re carrying on a tradition that you shared with your mom!


Leave a Reply

