Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

On the road again June 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — airingdirtylaundry @ 3:07 pm

I’m beginning to think that my concentration on this month’s NaBloPoMo theme should center around “never at home” rather than “home”. 

Last weekend I went back to The Sticks to spend some time with my family.  My father plays in a band, as I mentioned previously, and his band was playing at an all-day jam on Saturday.  It’s a really neat event–the bands play in a garage while all of the spectators are on the front lawn of a house that’s set way back in the woods, less than a mile from my father’s house.  There are tents set up for when it rains (which it did for a few hours this year), and a vendor selling hot dogs, hot sausage, etc.  A lot of the people that show up are friends of my Dad’s that I’ve known since I was a toddler.  Mike went with me last year, but opted not to go this year because his allergies have been hitting him hard and sitting outside all day would have been torture for him.

Tonight, as soon as I get home from work, we’re leaving for Virginia to go to Mike’s brother’s house for the weekend.  We always try to make it down there to spend time with them at least twice a year–in June for our nephew’s birthday and in October for our niece’s birthday.  So Mike, his sister (JLo), and her fiance (AT), and I are cramming ourselves into my car and making the 6-hour trek.  Be prepared next week for a photo extravaganza of our nephew’s 3rd birthday celebration (unless I get lazy and don’t upload the pictures in a timely manner).  My sisters-in-law and I are also spending some time on Saturday looking for a wedding gown for JLo.  She and AT aren’t getting married until next August, but it’s rare that the 3 of us girls are together, so we wanted to make the most of it.  And it’s never too soon to start looking!

And in 2 short weeks, Mike and I are headed to Vegas!!  I know that doesn’t count as being “on the road” since we’ll be “in the air”, but you get the idea.  We just planned this trip within the past week, and we’re so excited about it.  For us, Vegas is the perfect vacation.  There’s always something to do, we’re never bored or restless, and we always have a great time.  For us, Vegas is a relatively cheap vacation.  We can’t agree on most of the shows, so we don’t go.  We get cheap flights.  Our hotel room is free.  Neither of us care about fancy dinners so we don’t blow money on that.  Drinks are free when you’re gambling.  So the only real expense is the money we’re gambling with, and we go out with a budgeted amount of money and stick to it–no exceptions.  We’re not high-stakes players anyhow–I’m happy as a clam on a penny slot machine for hours at a time.  This will be the first time we’ve been there in the summer, but even the desert heat (weather.com is telling me that its 102 there right now–gasp!) can’t ruin my enthusiam!

I’ve been running around like crazy every day after work this week, shopping for birthday gifts for our nephew, running miscellaneous errands, and finally getting my hair cut and highlighted (we were both overdue, Sydney!).  I hadn’t had my hair highlighted in over 3 months and hadn’t had it cut in 8 weeks, so I was starting to feel mousy and messy.  I left the salon last night feeling like a new person.   I kind of have a stacked/bobbed/wedged thing going on.  My stylist cut it in basically the same style that she had done before, but this time it’s REALLY short in the back–she actually SHAVED MY NECK!  I really didn’t want to spend an hour and a half at the salon when I had so much other stuff to do (like cleaning the house, which is so neglected that it’s getting to the point of becoming a PROJECT instead of a TASK), but now I’m so glad I did.  And after all of the running around this week, it will almost be a welcome relief to sit in the car for 6 hours tonight.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

