Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Perspective April 3, 2008

Filed under: family,life lessons — airingdirtylaundry @ 8:15 am

My mother would have turned 55 today.  Even though the anniversary of her death is a sad time, I’ve always struggled more with her birthday.

My mother died on September 10, 2001 after a year-long battle with cancer.   The US was in turmoil 12 hours after she passed.  Each year as the anniversary of 9/11 approaches, I don’t allow myself to wallow in self-pity that my mother is gone.  So many people lost loved ones–suddenly, tragically, without warning.  I was at least fortunate to have the time to say goodbye to my mother.  I realize that that was a luxury that those who lost their loved ones because of 9/11 didn’t have.

But her birthday hasn’t failed to jolt me each of the past 7 years.  It’s almost spring.  The days are a little longer, the weather’s a little nicer.  Some years it’s almost Easter.  It’s a time of birth and re-birth.  And the woman that gave birth to me is not here.

When she was the age that I am now, she had a bratty 13 year-old and a troubled 7 year-old.  When she was the age that I am now, her life was almost three-quarters of the way complete.

It’s thoughts like that that give me perspective.    

 

3 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Sending lots of hugs your way.

  2. comfortablycrazy Says:

    When 9/11 happened I was already numb from a stillborn. So I understand that feeling. Every year I remember the day before she was born and then I remember again on 9/11, it’s like the Lord wipes the slate for a few days, and gives me a little bit of a break. Thanksgiving is the same way, her due date was the day before SuperChic’s birthday. So one year later I had a new baby, an no time to mourn.

    Having time doesn’t make it easier, but at least we get to say good-bye.

    I hope you are feeling better soon.

  3. comfortablycrazy Says:

    I almost forgot, thank you for the donations! The girls were both very excited and encouraged. Rapunzel did 22 laps and SuperChic did 19.


Leave a Reply

