Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

These Irish eyes, they are a-smilin’ March 20, 2008

Filed under: blogging,hungryhungryhippo — airingdirtylaundry @ 9:18 pm

Remember about two weeks ago, when I casually mentioned that I had bought cookies at a local eatery that were stale?  You don’t?  You don’t hang on to every word that I type and breathlessly wait for the next one?  Shame, shame on you.

Anyhow, I made mention of buying smiley cookies at Eat’n Park, a restaurant that’s local to us western-Pennsylvanians (and–to be fair–central PA, eastern Ohio, and northern WV).  I heart smiley cookies.  Maybe it’s because they’re big and I can justify “only having one”.  They make me smile right back at them.  The cookies I had bought were stale.  That didn’t stop me from eating them (impossible!), but it did stop me from serving them during my turn to host book club that week.  I’m not a crazy irate lady who would march right back to the restaurant and raise holy hell over it.  It was no big deal.  It did require me to cram almost all of the 12 cookies down my throat in the span of 3 days, but other than that I didn’t really think twice about it.

Not long after my post, I got an email from a woman named Trina, claiming to be the marketing coordinator for Eat’n Park.  She apologized for the cookies not being fresh and offered a complimentary dozen to make up for it.  I did some serious stalking sleuthing and checked her out on LinkedIn to make sure she was a “real” person and not some psycho pretending to give something away for free in order to trap me.  Because anyone listed on LinkedIn is an upstanding person in my book (regardless of the “don’t take candy cookies from strangers” rule).  [Sorry, my paranoia makes me think that everyone’s out to get me.  Honestly, that paranoia has saved my ass on numerous occasions.]  The good news is she’s not a psycho!  And she really does work for Eat’nPark!  And she really DID want to give me free cookies!

I knew we were having people over for the Pitt basketball game (a little pre-St. Patrick’s Day party) on Friday night, so I arranged to pick them up at the restaurant closest to me.  They were mind-numbingly fresh and absolutely delightful.  You know, I had to try one out before serving them to my guests!

me eat cookie me cookie monsterme eat cookie me cookie monsterme eat cookie me cookie monsterme eat cookie

So, a great big thanks to Trina and to Eat’n Park.  Definitely customer service with a smile! (Pun oh so totally intended!)

 

Leave a Reply

