Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

What I want to be when I grow up March 7, 2008

Filed under: a month of lists — airingdirtylaundry @ 1:11 pm

I spent a lot of time as a child thinking about what I wanted to be when I got older.  Some aspirations were attainable, and some were just way out there.  Here are the ones I can remember through the years:

Architect–I spent HOURS designing my dream houses on the graph paper that I begged my parents to buy me in bulk. 

Industrial Psychologist–until I realized how much grad school would cost and how far in debt I was still am from four years of partying and carrying on in many unmentionable ways undergrad schooling.

Majorette–until I broke my nose when the baton landed on it.  It still hasn’t been fixed.  My nose, that is.  The baton was not harmed at all.

OB/GYN–when my mother explained that the stork didn’t deliver babies, but that a doctor did, I wanted to be that doctor.  I thought there was only one.  I took everything literally. 

Photographer–specifically a photographer that takes pictures that are made into puzzles.

Poet

Dancer, specifically a Fly Girl–the fact that I had two left feet, no rhythm, and that my mom wouldn’t waste money on dance classes did little to deter me for quite some time.  Who knows, I could have been the next JLo . . . .

I don’t want to grow up–I’m a Toys ‘R’ Us kid.  Actually, I was more of a KMart-toy-department-and-only-if-it’s-on-sale kid, but I always liked to sing that song.  Get’s stuck in your head, doesn’t it? 

 

Leave a Reply

