Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Half marathons March 5, 2008

Filed under: a month of lists — airingdirtylaundry @ 9:20 am

I’m not an athlete.  I’m not very competitive, and I don’t have much discipline or drive to push myself.  Despite all of this, five years ago I decided to run my first half marathon.  I had run cross country in high school, more for the social aspects than anything else.  But I had an amazing coach, and that made all the difference for this self-declared “un-athlete”.  My coach died in a car accident in a little over 5 years ago.  His death was one of the much-needed catalysts that got me running again.  One of the others was my flabby ass.  Long ago I came to the conclusion that I wasn’t going to set any world records.  My first half marathon confirmed this.  But running sure is addictive.  And even though I run slow, it’s still a way to clear my head and get some exercise.  So I ran another.  And another.  And another.

HALF MARATHONS

  • 2003 Virginia Beach Rock & Roll Half Marathon
  • 2004 Chambersburg Half Marathon
  • 2004 Virginia Beach Rock & Roll Half Marathon
  • 2005 Indianapolis Mini Marathon
  • 2006 Chambersburg Half Marathon
  • 2006 Indianapolis Mini Marathon–my time in this one sucked.  I ended up walking more than running, and even then could barely put one foot in front of the other.  Plus add in severe cramps (not the running kind, the female once-a-month kind).  Total disaster.  I actually thought about quitting, but didn’t know how.  I was walking (trudging) towards the area where all of the finishers were anyhow.  I didn’t want to go to any of the medical tents along the way because I didn’t have a medical emergency.  And if I sat down, I knew I wouldn’t be able to stand up again on my own.  Hopefully, I’ll never be in that situation again.

I signed up for the 2007 Indy Mini, but didn’t really train, so I ended up not even trying in fear of repeating the 2006 mess.  Mike’s gout flared up the day before, so he didn’t run either.  We have 2 $60 T-shirts to show in return for our entrance fee.  But our friends we went with did well in the race and we had a fun weekend.

Mike and I are signed up for this year’s Indy Mini and have been training consistently.  We’re going to Indy with 2 other couples that live in our neighborhood, one of which used to live in Indy.  The 6 of us have been friends for years and have a good time talking trash on each other’s running skills (or lack thereof).  I have an idea of where I want to end up time-wise this year, but truthfully, I’ll be happy to finish and finish strong.  I probably weigh close to 25-30 lbs more than I did a few years ago and that’s a heck of a lot of extra weight to carry around with you for 13.1 miles.

 

One Response to “Half marathons”

  1. aml1676 Says:

    You are a better woman than I — the thought of running at all makes me want to hurl myself down the stairs. Still, I’m very inspired by people who love it enough to keep at it, and even run *marathons*!


Leave a Reply

