Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Oh, the places you’ll go! March 3, 2008

Filed under: a month of lists — airingdirtylaundry @ 1:29 pm

Actually, this is a list of the places I’ve been, but I couldn’t resist the Dr. Seuss reference.  I omitted locations in Maryland, where I was born, and Pennsylvania, where I’ve lived my entire life.  These are vacations, overnight stays, or specific day trips–I didn’t include every rinky-dink town that we stopped for gas in during a road trip or cities where I had a layover when flying to somewhere else.  And, as in my previous lists–no particular order.

  • Las Vegas, NV (4 times, and I can’t wait to go again someday.  A few friends and I are trying to plan a “girl’s getaway” there late this summer–hopefully it works out!)
  • Maui, Hawaii (honeymoon trip)
  • Eugene, Oregon (also part of the honeymoon trip–we went to see an Oregon-Oregon State football game.  Absolutely wonderful time and I would love to go back.)
  • Dunkirk, NY
  • New York City
  • Ohio–Zanesville, Dresden, Lima, Twinsburg
  • Alaska–Juneau and Hoonah (church youth group work camp–I was way too young to appreciate such a trip.)
  • Aruba–expensive but worth every penny.  We went before Natalee Holloway got snatched, so I was drunk and fearless at Carlos and Charlie’s.  If you ever go, be sure allow one night for the Kukukanuku bus (I think I totally butchered the spelling of that).  Also, the biker bar is cool.  I hopped on the back of a Boss Hoss with a total stranger and took off at 80+ mph down the main drag.  Once again, this was before Natalee Holloway.  I easily could have been raped, murdered, and chopped into a million pieces.  But since I wasn’t, it was a fun time!
  • Indianpolis, Indiana
  • West Virginia–Alderson, Wheeling
  • Virginia–Berryville, Midlothian, Virginia Beach
  • Washington DC
  • Arizona–Phoenix, Scottsdale
  • Washington–Seattle, Graham
  • New Jersey–Brielle, Tom’s River
  • Lexington, KY
  • Outer Banks, NC (northern Corolla in the 4X4 area)–a vacation of sand fleas, killer mosquitos the size of your fist, and being 8 miles away from the rest of civilization.  Not fun.
  • Florida–Orlando, Pensacola, Fort Walton Beach

I think that’s it.  It seems like a long list, but there’s so much of the world–so much of the country!–that I haven’t seen yet.

 

Leave a Reply

