Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

We said “I do” . . .again February 11, 2008

Filed under: family — airingdirtylaundry @ 10:15 pm

I’m still not mentally prepared for my long, rambling, bitching post, so instead, let’s talk about happy things.

Our wedding vow renewal last night was great.  I half-expected it to be hokey, but it was actually very sweet (in a mass-production-wedding kind of way).  Special attention was given to the couples that have been married for a long time, especially the couple there that had been married the longest (62 years!), and also to those who traveled back to Pittsburgh to be part of the event and to be part of Pittsburgh’s 250th anniversary.

In addition to renewing our vows, it was nice to be a part of history:

re-union

In order to comply with the Guinness Book of World Record rules, we all had to say the same vows at the same time, so we were supplied with a program listing them so that we could all do it in sync.  Even though we were basically repeating what Mayor Ravenstahl was saying and also reading them from the program, and even though we were doing it along with hundreds of other people, it was special to us.  We weren’t just saying the words, we meant them.  I even got a little teary-eyed!  I didn’t even think to tuck a few tissues in my bra before the ceremony like I did the first time around.  Here’s our vows:

It is with a glad heart that I renew my vows to you.

I will love you and cherish our time together.

I will respect you as an individual.

I will care for you in your time of need and support you in times of want and in times of plenty.

I married you before and I am happy to have the privilege of marrying you again.

I believe our love will continue to grow stronger each day.

I will hold on to the memories, the good as well as the bad, as a reminder of how far we’ve come and why we are here today.

You’re a wonderful gift to me and my life is better because you are in it.

I will continue to love you and I will love you forever.

And here’s the happy (if somewhat windblown!) couple:

wedding picture part deux

(I don’t know why I stressed about wearing black.  There was quite a wide variety of get-ups–wedding gowns, cowboy boots and hats, Penguin jerseys, kilts, scarlet red dresses that screamed “whore”, etc.  My black dress was well under the radar.)

And here’s the proof that we either renewed our vows or tackled someone else and stole their fill-in-the-blank stamped certificate:

marriage certificate

We skipped out on the champagne and wedding cake and went to Houlihan’s for our wedding dinner.  Then back home to change into our PJs and pass out, exhausted from a busy day.  Very much like our first wedding night!

 

Leave a Reply

