Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Catching up January 4, 2008

Filed under: family,holidaze — airingdirtylaundry @ 3:48 pm

Hold on to your hats, folks.   This one here’s  gonna be a long one. 

I’m back from my blog-vacation (blogcation?).  Although I intended to at least throw out one post over the holidays, well, it just didn’t happen.

The weekend before Christmas, we trekked 3 hours through the fog and spent a whirlwind 36 hours with my family.  We usually stay with my Dad, but my brother and his girlfriend and her little boy moved in with him recently (temporarily), so there was no room at the inn.  Instead we stayed with my grandparents.  Although I love them to pieces, I can’t stand staying overnight in their house.  It’s about 2 degrees shy of a sauna.  Mike and I laid side-by-side in a tiny bed in shorts and t-shirts with no covers on and sweated the night away, praying for morning to come quickly.  At one point, I got up and went into the bathroom, opened the window, and stuck my head out to cool off.  Maybe they were doing me a favor, though.  I think I lost 5 pounds that night.  Sunday afternoon we celebrated Christmas after a huge dinner.  Grandma is the best cook and makes everything from scratch, including bread.  The 5 pounds I lost the night before found its way back to me in no time at all!  Here’s a couple of pictures of my brother David and I with Grandma and Pappy:

grandma

pappy

There were two different cameras going at once, so off course we’re not all looking at the same one at the same time. 

We also made a stop at my other grandmother’s house and visited with her for awhile.  She has a lot of health problems, but thanks to a new doctor making some changes in her medication, she looks better than she has in a long time and seems to have a lot more energy.

We got home Sunday night after a long drive in the rain.  Monday we both had off work, so Mike slept in while I finished painting one of the spare bedrooms.  We had some errands to run, and then headed over to the Keppie’s house for Christmas Eve dinner.  Mike and his family used to live next door to the Keppies and they would always have dinner together on Christmas Eve.  Even when Mike’s family moved two streets away from the Keppies when he was in his early teens the tradition continued, and is still going strong today. 

Between Mike’s family and the Keppies, there were 6 kids, and when they were little they would line up on the steps in order of age and get their picture taken.  Although it’s been a few years since all 6 “kids” were able to be there on Christmas Eve, sometimes Mr. Keppie still remembers to take the picture.  The last one of all 6 together is from 2002:

steps

Although Christmas Eve at the Keppie’s is always a good time, this year there’s documentation of the shenanigans.  The “adults” invaded the basement where we “kids” hang out after dinner.  Usually the adults just check up on us to make sure we’re not doing anything bad and then go back upstairs, but this year they joined in on the “bad-ness”.

Shots–a choice of Skyy vodka or Wild Turkey.  I went with the vodka.

Christmas Eve shots

Posing with the fax machine:

fax

And posing with the puffer fish.  We’re not sure it was a puffer fish, but that’s what we all called it.

puffer

puffer

A good time was had by all.  And we still managed to do the traditional picture, although there were 2 missing kids this time:

steps 2007

We also did one with the parents and spouses–maybe we’ll start a new tradition!

oddball picture

Did you see how long my father-in-law’s thumb is?  Unnatural, I tell you.

On Christmas Day, Mike and I were hosting dinner for his family, so a lot of time was spent in the kitchen and cleaning the house.  Mike’s brother, our sister-in-law, and our niece and nephew got there around 4, and chaos ensued in the form of toys, wrapping paper, and noise.  But we loved every minute of it.

chaos

Although there were a few quiet moments:

resting

I had to work the rest of the week, so I didn’t get to spend as much time with the kids as I would have liked.  They left on Friday, and all of a sudden the house seemed empty.

Next up is the crazy bachelorette party I went to on Saturday–for the youngest Keppie daughter, who’s getting married in NYC in a few weeks.  I think I’ve regressed.  Shots and bachelorette parties–when I started this blog I never thought that this is what I’d be writing about!

 

One Response to “Catching up”

  1. I meant to comment the other day when I saw it, but a certain teething monster side tracked me.

    Anyway, glad to see you back from your blogcation 😉 I love all of the photos. You were missed – so stay in touch.

    Happy New Year to you and Mike!


Leave a Reply

