Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Waiting for Santa December 15, 2007

Filed under: holidaze,meow! — airingdirtylaundry @ 2:06 pm

I left the house at 8:00 this morning to take care of the few remaining Christmas gifts and some miscellaneous errands.  Note to self:  steer clear of the grocery store when the weather forecast calls for a snow storm.  Even if you actually NEED milk and bread and aren’t just in a state of snow-panic. 

Mike went to the Pitt basketball game (Pitt’s up by 14 at the beginning of the second BTW) with a friend, so I have the house to myself.  I made cookies for our neighborhood cookie exchange tomorrow (which is during the Steelers game–I should have checked the schedule before I agreed to do it).

I have instrumental Celtic Christmas music blaring on the stereo and have been cleaning and just enjoying the time alone.  I have all of our shopping finished, just a few gifts to wrap, I’m ready to travel to see my family next weekend, and looking forward to Christmas day.  We’re having dinner at our house for Mike’s family and our niece and nephew are staying with us from Christmas day through the following Saturday.  And I’m ready.  I’m not stressed.  There are things that aren’t done yet and I’m not tearing my hair out trying to figure out how I’m going to get everything done in addition to putting in extra time at work (gotta meet those year-end numbers!). 

The past few years I’ve dreaded Christmas.  The shopping, the crowds, the wrapping, the last minute-ness of EVERYTHING.  This year I’m ready.  I’m relaxed, I’m happy, and I’m looking forward to spending time with all of our family.  Which is what Christmas is really about anyhow. 

And Giz?  She’s ready too.  Ready for Santa to come.

giz under the tree

Ignore the mess on the floor–this picture was taken pre-cleaning spree!

 

One Response to “Waiting for Santa”

  1. karen Says:

    Hope you have a great Christmas!!!! Looks like a lovely tree… glad that you’re in the spirit this year and not panicked. I’m sort of in slo-mo now… just right for the festivities, though, I think.


Leave a Reply

