Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Swaparooni! WooHoo! November 18, 2007

Filed under: blogging,friends,NaBloPoMo — airingdirtylaundry @ 6:50 pm

My swaparooni from TheAngelForever arrived yesterday, so I had quite a treat waiting for me when I got home from the gym health club.  I didn’t even shower before I started ripping the box open!

I had a great time opening the package (with Mike and our friend CDW observing and taking pictures) and loved all of the notes that TheAngelForever put on everything.  She’s so creative–she used paint chips in various shades of blue for all of the notes.  Here’s a picture of everything she sent. 

Blue silver and white swaparooni

She sent me return address labels with snowmen on them, holiday notecards (perfect for holiday thank yous and letters to friends and family), pens, white-out (with an oh-so-true note about women not making mistakes!), oven mitts, wintery soaps and chapstick, magnets (an angel and a snowflake), Peppermint Patties (my favorite), and wrinkle releaser.  We used to go through wrinkle releaser by the gallon when Mike had a shirt-and-tie job, but since he got a job with ultra-casual attire (we’re talking jeans and a sweatshirt–I’m sooo jealous), I stopped buying it and resorted to bribing him to iron my work clothes for me.  Because I DESPISE ironing, and, in all seriousness, he’s much better than it than I am.  He’s very happy to be relieved of his ironing duties by such a great product! The wrinkle releaser will be great for our upcoming trip to Vegas, because as much as I hate ironing at home, I hate it even more on vacation!

AND, in addition to all of that stuff, she also got me beautiful handcrafted blue glass earrings!  Here’s a picture of me with them in all of my sweaty-ness:

earrings from swap

Her note said they reminded her of the glass at the Bellagio in Vegas.  What a perfect comparison!  Since I’ve been sitting around in my PJs all day today I haven’t worn them yet, but you can bet I’ll be wearing them to work tomorrow! 

Thanks for a great swap, TheAngelForever!  It’s been great getting to know you and your family through this whole experience and I’m so glad to have you as a new online friend!

 

2 Responses to “Swaparooni! WooHoo!”

  1. Look a little closer on the bottom of the address labels 😉 There is a surprise I do not think you noticed (should be the third sheet).

    I am so glad that you liked everything. I seriously never knew what an iron was growing up. Apparently my mother had so many kick the bucket on her that she gave up. My kindergarten teacher was upset that I did not recognize it on an activity. I learned from my mother I buy clothing that does not require ironing and jump to the dryer to hang things up quickly. JL does ironing of his dress shirts if need be. My grandmother told me about the Wrinkle Release stuff and I fell in love since the scent is not too harsh.

    BTW – I take no credit for the paint chip idea – I stole that from Citystreams (my first Swaparooni buddy). It was fun doing it this time and thinking of things to say on each grouping. When I was looking at the earring before I packed it up it made me smile thinking of the gorgeous ceiling art at the Bellagio by Chihuly. We had amazing photos from there, but sadly our digital camera was stolen in Pittsburgh on our way home and we lots most of our photos. *sigh*

    It was so much fun getting to know you and making another great online friend. I look forward to reading your blog and getting to know you more.

  2. airingdirtylaundry Says:

    YOU ROCK! I absolutely love the Vegas labels. You’re right–I totally missed them!


Leave a Reply

