Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

My favorite weekend of the year November 4, 2007

Filed under: football,hungryhungryhippo,NaBloPoMo — airingdirtylaundry @ 7:06 am

Seriously, this is it.  The extra hour thanks to Daylight Savings Time = an extra hour of sleep. Yes, I know we lose that hour in the spring (on my least-favorite weekend of the year) and it all evens out in the end, but I love the idea of an extra “free” hour.  EVERY DAY should have an extra hour.

Saturday morning I woke up and ran all of my errands, put some chili in the crockpot (extra lean meat of course, and to be eaten in small portions).  As the chilli simmered, we watched college football.  Well, Mike watched college football while I cleaned the house, got on the treadmill, putzed around, and paid bills (including my traffic ticket from Wednesday morning for skating through a yellow-quickly-turning-red light.  I was also speeding and tailgating a big truck–which is why I couldn’t see the light turn. So I am definitely guilty and  can’t even try to fight it.  I got off relatively easy since the ticket was just for the light and not for speeding. And it’s my first ticket since the day after Christmas 1996.  So I’m due.  At least that’s my rationale.).

Of course, I also had to pull the last of the weeds for the year (hopefully) from the flower beds, begbegbeg Mike to cut the grass this one last time for the year, clean out the garage so that we could squeeze our cars in and not have to scrape the heavy frost from the windows in the morning. Oh, and fold 5 monster loads of laundry that I had washed and dried but then dumped in a big pile on our bedroom floor earlier in the week. 

And how does all of this equate to being my favorite weekend?  Spending time with Mike, getting alot done, relaxing a little–perfect.  And that extra hour made it even better.

 

3 Responses to “My favorite weekend of the year”

  1. karen Says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. Hey, is that a new haircut? Looks very nice 😉

  2. airingdirtylaundry Says:

    Thanks, Karen! These are actually pictures from the last time I got my hair cut (and colored, but shhh, don’t tell!). My regular hairstylist had knee surgery and is off work for a few months, so I had my husband take pictures so that the substitute hairstylist would have an idea of what to do with my baby-fine, thin, pain-in-the-ass hair! AND, I’m sending an entry to Whoorl (www.whoorl.com) for her Hair Thursdays so that I can get some suggestions on what to do with this mess. I wanted to give her some idea of what it looks like when someone else does it vs. the shaggy mess it is when I do it!

  3. karen Says:

    It is very cute. I can’t wait to see what Sara says at Whoorl!
    I’m actually in her gallery too. But I need another haircut and colour again really soon. It was probably my age, but I didn’t start getting grays until after my daughter was born. So I’ll blame it on her … nice Mom, aren’t I?


Leave a Reply

