Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

I swear that this will NOT become my “weight-loss blog” November 2, 2007

Filed under: hungryhungryhippo,NaBloPoMo — airingdirtylaundry @ 7:15 am

 . . .but that’s really all I have going on right now, and it’s consuming all of my thoughts and free time.  So deal with it.

The last 2 days have been really good.  When attempting to lose weight, I always keep a food journal.  If nothing else, it makes me aware of what is going into my body.  But it also keeps me from eating bad stuff–to see how many calories I consume in black and white is in itself an incentive.  But it also helps me make choices–do I eat a tiny little cookie or a serving of fat-free, sugar-free chocolate pudding?  I still get my chocolate fix, but that pudding will last waaayyy longer than the cookie and I don’t feel that I’ve “cheated”.  Since I’m at the beginning of this adventure, it’s been easy for me to see that little bit of pudding as a “treat”–now I just need to keep thinking that way and only “reward” myself on days where I’m able to get a good workout in.

Halloween wasn’t that bad, either.  Not once did I think that I HAD to have just one little piece of candy.  But the left-over candy is still in the kitchen, so that needs to find it’s way to a very good hiding place quickly.

Anyhow . . .back to the food journal.  Each day, I track how many calories I eat, along with grams of fat, carbohydrates, and protein.  I separate each meal/snack so that I can make sure I’m getting the right balance of protein and carbs in each meal/snack.  And then I total each day–trying to stay around 1200 calories/90g carbs/150g protein/27g fat.  I also keep an eye on my sodium intake, but I don’t log it. After the first 2 or 3 weeks,  I’ll throw in a 1600-1700 calorie day every 3 or 4 days with about 140g carbs (I LOVE those days).  Otherwise, my body gets in a rut and weight loss will come to a grinding halt.  Those high calorie days fulfill my bread/pasta cravings (whole grain, of course!) and then cause a “jumpstart” effect when I go back to the 1200 calorie days.  And if I still get a good workout day in on the high calorie day, I don’t feel that guilty.

I actually enjoy keeping my food journal.  [perfect spot for a picture of it, but of course I don’t have my camera handy–maybe some other day] It’s pretty easy, and for things that I’m not sure of the nutritional information, there are tons of websites that allow you to look up foods, change the unit of measurement for each food, and even list foods by brand name.

I know the mechanics and I know how my body reacts–I just have to combat the laziness and the lack of willpower!

 

2 Responses to “I swear that this will NOT become my “weight-loss blog””

  1. karen Says:

    That sounds like a lot of work, but it also sounds like you’re learning a lot about food and your body. Which is a really good thing.
    It’s OK if it’s your weight-loss blog -you can make it anything you want. We’ll still wanna read it 🙂

  2. monycoleman Says:

    It sucks to know what to do and how to do it and where to find the help and still not be able to put the cookie down, doesn’t it??? I relate to it word for word. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

