Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Psycho cyber-stalker killer’s victims all listed in blogroll! October 24, 2007

Filed under: blogging — airingdirtylaundry @ 10:55 am

Just kidding.  I’m in a newspaper-headline, attention-grabbing kinda mood today. 

I recently read Kerflop’s post about the demise (and now resurgence) of her blogroll.  Being new to blogging, I wondered about the politics behind it all for awhile now (“awhile” meaning the measly 2 1/2 months my blog has been in existence).  When setting up my blog initially, I went in and immediately linked to all of the blogs that I had been reading.  Some were funny, some were crazy, and some were an interesting read.

As the days passed, I thought more about it.  My first thought was that the linkee would be flattered–who doesn’t like to see their name in print (except for in the police blotter or the obituaries.  But I guess you wouldn’t get to see your own name in the obituaries, so that doesn’t really count).  But then I thought, “what if the linkee checks out the linker’s website and feels violated that they’ve been linked by someone that they don’t jibe with or oppose their views with every fiber of their being?”  I know I would be shocked to end up on some crazed psychopathic maniac’s website and see my blog listed on their blogroll!  Maybe that’s an extreme example, but you get my drift.

There are a lot of politics involved in the blogroll, and I’m the type of person who really doesn’t want to offend anyone, especially people I don’t know “in real life”.  So if you see your blog listed in my blogroll, and have a problem with it, feel free to tell me to remove it.  I will continue to read every word you write and stalk you (just kidding!), but if you’re not comfortable with me linking you, I’d rather know.

On the other hand, that’s what you get for blasting your daily life and random thoughts all over the internet!  There’s a certain vulnerability when you have a blog, and I guess you have to be prepared to deal with it.

Me, personally?  I’d be flattered to be listed on someone’s blogroll.  Even if it is a psychopathic killer.

 

3 Responses to “Psycho cyber-stalker killer’s victims all listed in blogroll!”

  1. kerflop Says:

    I guarantee 99% of the blogging population all love to be linked. No permission needed. If they are the type that don’t want to be linked, they usually have their posts password protected or whatnot. 🙂

  2. Well, even if you aren’t psycho I just added you to mt blog roll 😉 I set them up before I used Google Reader and just forget to add new ones. Linkage is always nice.

  3. karen Says:

    I am flattered. And hey, I think I’ll blogroll you too, sweets :). I’ve found so many fun, interesting, thoughtful blogs through that process, I tend to agree with kerflop. It’s the most sincere form of flattery.


Leave a Reply

