Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Addicted September 1, 2007

Filed under: books — airingdirtylaundry @ 10:18 am

I stopped at a Barnes & Noble last night (yeah, I know, the exciting Friday nights I have).  I was by myself, about a hour away from our house and had some time to kill while my husband was at a fantasy football draft.

I love books.  I always have.  I won every damn summer book reading library contest throughout my childhood.  I can lose myself in a book and be totally oblivious to everything around me for hours on end.  I never get “tired” of reading.  I get tired of cleaning the house, but never tired of reading.  If you’d see my bookshelves and my perpetually dirty house and piles of laundry, you’d be able to fully understand.

But once I’m done with a book, I basically forget it.  Details and character names from a book I just finished will fade into the distance once I open the next one.  I may be able to recall general plotlines, but that’s about it.  Only few books have touched me and intrigued me to the point that I can describe the book to another person in terms more explicit than “Well, it’s OK, I guess.  But let me tell you about the book I’m reading RIGHT NOW.”

Because of my fascination with human perception, and because I was frustrated with not being able to ABSORB a book entirely, I started reading memoirs.  I’ve found that I’m able to retain more, relate more, and enjoy them more than your run-of-the-mill novel.  These are REAL PEOPLE.  And reading a certain memoir led me to that person’s blog, which led me to another person’s blog, which led me to another person’s blog, which eventually led me HERE.  So I like memoirs.

Where is this leading to and what does it have to do with my trip to the bookstore on a Friday night, you may ask?  At Kerflop’s suggestion, I decided to check out the first book in the Stephenie Meyer Twilight series.  How in the world had I not heard of these books before?  What rock have I been living under?  Really, I do need to get out more.  You would think that someone who spends the majority of every day on the computer and who loves books as much as I do would have once thought to check out a bestseller list or two.  I had seen the newest book in the bookstore, picked it up, saw that it was about vampires, and put it down because I don’t like fantasy and vampires do not interest me at all.

Anyhow, back to my point . . . After just reading “a page or two” of Twilight, I’ve found that I quickly discarded the library book that’s due back on Tuesday in favor of it.  I can not put it down.  Good thing I’m an all-or-nothing kind of person, because I bought all three of the books.  They don’t stand a chance.  I will sit here and read them all straight through, and I’m already thinking about how I’m going to start over again as soon as I finish the last page of Eclipse.  I DO NOT READ BOOKS TWICE.  EVER.  Harry Potter?  One trip through, and I haven’t even touched the new book yet.  It’s been put on the back burner (behind the library book that it looks like I’m going to have to renew).

You know why?  These people/vampires are REAL. To me, at least.  I will remember these books after they’ve sat on my bookshelf for years.  I will be able to describe them in detail to other people.  REAL, I tell you.  REAL. Memoirs of a vampire, in a way.  Thanks Kerflop!

 

Leave a Reply

