Airing Dirty Laundry

for all the world wide web to see

Whoorl’s Hair Thursdays November 6, 2007

Filed under: hair,NaBloPoMo — airingdirtylaundry @ 7:19 am

I am stalking addicted to Whoorl and her Hair Thursdays.  That woman has VISION!  Eons ago, when she mentioned that she was going to start up the Hair Thursdays, I immediately commented that I wanted in.  She promptly sent me an email with all of the questions on what I do now, preferences, type of hair, etc. By now, she probably has 4,947 people on her list (and I will be bald by the time she gets to me), but I finally got around to getting everything together that I wanted to send her.  Because I am grasping at straws on day six In the spirit of NaBloPoMo, I made my “entry” a post instead of sending her a 46-paragraph email with pictures, diagrams, long rambling stories, my grocery list, and whatever else came to mind.  This way she can ignore me once she figures out that I’m a freak and doesn’t have to deal with the guilt of not replying to an email!

It’s not that it really took me this long to get everything together for her because I’m lazy. I first wanted to get my hair cut, take pictures of it, let it grow out, take pictures of that incompetent train wreck, and then tell her THE STORY OF MY HAIR.  You know, just so she has every minute detail to work with.  Because she could tell me to dye it purple, shave it into a mohawk, or revert back to the Dorothy Hamill haircut that I lived with from grades 2 through 5 (when I discovered perms, big hair and Aqua Net), and I would do it.  I have the utmost confidence that she knows what’s best for my hair–even though she lives 3000 miles away and has never touched it.  Now that’s faith.

Anyhoo, onto the project.  First of all, this is me:

me

Hi.  How are ya?  Please ignore my rosacea, beady eyes, crooked nose, and double chin.  This is about the HAIR, people!

What?  You want to see pictures of my hair from every angle that my husband grudgingly lovingly took?  OK, here you go . . .

me again

me again

me yet again

Now that I’ve done the hokey pokey and turned myself around, let me just clarify that these pictures were taken right after my last haircut.  My stylist had to have knee surgery and is off work for a few months, so I wanted to be able to give her replacement some idea of where to begin.  These pictures were taken on September 8th.

Last Friday, this is what I was doing instead of packing my lunch at 6:45 AM:

me

Trying to take a picture of myself in the bathroom mirror.  I get my hair cut again next Monday, so please stay tuned.  Or not, you know, if hair just isn’t your thing.

And, here are my answers to Whoorl’s many many questions:

1. What color is your hair? Do you color/highlight your hair? If so, what
color?
  My natural hair color is still there under all of the highlights.  The mousy brown color that is best shown by the picture of the back of my head.  The closer you get to my neck, the closer you get to my natural hair color.  I have a section of hair in the front that doesn’t have any pigment and is white, so I’ve almost always highlighted my hair so that I’m the only one who knows that it’s there.  Well, me and now the whole internet, too.
 

2. What condition is your hair? (Dry, Oily, Normal, Chemically-processed,
etc.)
Mostly normal with a tendency to be drier towards the ends.  BUT, I can’t get away without washing it every day, or it turns into a grease pit.  Oh, and definitely chemically-processed.
 

3. What type of hair do you have? (Fine, Thick, Wavy, Curly, Straight, etc.)  Baby-fine.  Like you could touch it and not know you’re touching it.  Very thin–VERY.  Much more so on the sides and bangs (if you can call them that); slightly thicker at the crown of my head and in the back.  Straight, except for that kinky little section in the “now” picture.  
 

4. Do you have a preference for length? If so, what?  I can’t go much longer than what it is now.  I usually go 6 weeks between appointments. I stretched it to 8 weeks this time and am ready to stab someone with my brush every morning. 
 

5. How much time do you spend styling your hair each day? How much time do I spend thinking about how I’d like to shave it all off?  Oh, you said STYLING it! About 15-20 minutes.  Yeah, for that.  If I could have all of that time back, I could, um I don’t know, do something important. 

6. Do you use styling tools? If so, what?  I blow-dry in sections with a round brush.  I recently bought a flat iron, but am not quite sure what the hell I’m doing.  (Cue video tutorial please, Whoorl!)  I also own every size curling iron ever made.

7. What kind of products do you use on a daily basis? Shampoo and conditioner (typically L’Oreal Vive for fine hair or Pantene), “weight-less” mousse, root lifter made by my salon that’s called Texture Rising (love the play on words!), and then a little bit of texturizing wax and a little bit of texturizing hairspray after styling.  I know, I know–step away from the hairspray.  But if your hair was this fine and this thin and this flyaway, you’d use hairspray too.  Otherwise, a 2 mph wind makes my hair look like Pittsburgh suddenly acquired a hurricane season.

8. Do you wear your hair in ponytails frequently? not a chance

9. What kind of environment do you live in? (Rainy, humid, high altitude,
etc.)
Some snow during winter, a lot of humidity in the summer, and frequent rain.  Wow, that sounds crappy.  Now please tell me how many days of California sun you’ve had in a row so that I can be jealous.

10. Do you have layers in your hair? I don’t think I’ve never NOT had layers in my hair.  Too fine and too thin.

OK, there you have it.  I’m patiently awaiting my analysis, suggestions for improvement, and the edict that I must go buy a wig immediately and cover up this mess.

 

7 Responses to “Whoorl’s Hair Thursdays”

  1. karen Says:

    Great synopsis. Maybe you can help me work on my resume sometime :)

    I can’t wait to see what she does with your hair! Oh what fun!!!!

  2. airingdirtylaundry Says:

    I’d be glad to help with your resume! You know, as soon as I finish mine!

  3. [...] sent an email, as well as discussed her ongoing hair drama over here. In a nutshell, Shawna’s hair is extremely fine and thin, she can’t grow it too much [...]

  4. Swistle Says:

    Hi! I’m popping over from Whoorl! Love the new cut!

  5. Sleepynita Says:

    Hi! Popping over from Whoorls site, I think your new haircut is smashing!

  6. Jodi Says:

    came over from Whoorl also – LOVE the new cut! Yeah you!

  7. [...] sent an email, as well as discussed her ongoing hair drama over here. In a nutshell, Shawna’s hair is extremely fine and thin, she can’t grow it too much [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.